Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 269 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

We Live On

We Live OnThe Actors’ Gang Theater will debut We Live On, a new play based on Hard Times by Studs Terkel, on July 22nd. With additional text by Tim Robbins
and the cast and under Robbins’ direction, the live virtual production will be presented in three parts and will run through September 4th.


With music by Cameron Dye and David Robbins, this world premiere features 30 accounts of the Great Depression, including those of Dolores Huerta, Dorothy Day, and Cesar Chavez.

Fifty-one years ago, author and chronicler of the common man, Studs Terkel, interviewed businessmen, auto workers, farmers, hobos, striptease artists, repo men, seamstresses, and labor leaders and asked them what it was like to live through the Great Depression. Their words of survival have a direct link to the challenges faced worldwide during the COVID pan-demic.

We Live On, a live virtual production, will run from July 22nd through September 4th (previews July 22nd, 23rd and 24th press openings July 29th, 30th and 31st). Each part presents ten stories and stands as a complete experience. Audiences around the globe can also join online prere-corded screening every Sunday, between July 25th and September 5th, at 9 am (PT) for Part One, at 10:30 am (PT) for Part Two, at 12 pm (PT) for Part Three. This marks the first Actors’ Gang mainstage production since the theater closed its doors in March of 2020.

Presenter / Producer: The Actors' Gang

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 310-838-4264

Venue
The Actors' Gang Online
A Live Virtual World Premiere
Culver City CA

Regions:
Other


Performance Dates: 7/22/2021 - 9/4/2021
Thursday, 07/22/2021
Friday, 07/23/2021
Saturday, 07/24/2021
Thursday, 07/29/2021
Friday, 07/30/2021
Saturday, 07/31/2021
Thursday, 08/05/2021
Friday, 08/06/2021
Saturday, 08/07/2021
Thursday, 08/12/2021
Friday, 08/13/2021
Saturday, 08/14/2021
Thursday, 08/19/2021
Friday, 08/20/2021
Saturday, 08/21/2021
Thursday, 08/26/2021
Friday, 08/27/2021
Saturday, 08/28/2021
Thursday, 09/02/2021
Friday, 09/03/2021
Saturday, 09/04/2021

Performance Times
Performed in Three Parts
Each performance stands as a complete experience A viewing of the integral production is recommended



Thursday, July 22nd through Saturday, September 4th
Thursdays - Part One (7 pm)
Fridays - Part Two (7 pm)
Saturday Marathons - Part One (5 pm), Part Two (6:30 pm), Part Three (8 pm)

Sundays (pre-recorded performances) July 25th through September 5th

Part One (9 am) Part Two (10:30 am) Part Three (12 pm), all Pacific Time.

PREVIEWS, OPENING NIGHT
Preview Part One Thursday, July 22nd (7 pm)
Preview Part Two Friday, July 23rd (7 pm)
Preview Part Three Saturday, July 24th (7 pm)

Opening Night Part One – Thursday, July 29th (7 pm)
Opening Night Part Two – Friday, July 30th (7 pm)
Opening Night Part Three -  Saturday, July 31st (8 pm)


Ticket Information:
All performances are "Pay What You Can”. Free Tickets are available upon request.

Tickets are available online at www.TheActorsGang.com or by phone at 310-838-4264


Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:

 

performing arts performers
stage