Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 119 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

W. Terrence Spiller Piano Recital

W. Terrence Spiller Piano RecitalPianist and Cal Poly Music Professor W. Terrence Spiller will give a virtual recital that will livestream at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Jan. 29, and be available through Feb. 7.

The first half will feature Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s technically demanding and humorous Sonata in F Major, K. 332 Maria Agata Szymanowska’s Nocturne in B-flat Major and Maurice Ravel’s “Sonatine.”


“Szymanowska was a significant influence on Frédéric Chopin and other Romantic-era composers,” Spiller said. “The inspiration for Ravel’s ‘Sonatine’ was a magazine’s composition competition. He would have won — as he was the only entrant — but his first movement was a few measures too long. It is a tribute to 18th-century elegance, style and structure.”

The second half will be Sergei Rachmaninoff’s “Moments musicaux,” Op. 16. Spiller said the then-23-year-old Rachmaninoff wrote the piece rather quickly because he needed money. “The six movements represent a range of Romantic moods and styles and forms that feature special emphasis upon Rachmaninoff’s coloristic writing, his lyricism and his virtuosity.”

Presenter / Producer: Cal Poly Music Department

Listed Categories
Music > Classical
Music > Recitals - Instrumental


Event Phone: 805-756-4849

Venue
Cal Poly Virtual

San Luis Obispo CA 93405

Regions:
Central California
Ventura, Santa Barbara & San Luis Obispo


Performance Dates: 1/29/2021 - 2/7/2021
Friday, 01/29/2021
Saturday, 01/30/2021
Sunday, 01/31/2021
Monday, 02/01/2021
Tuesday, 02/02/2021
Wednesday, 02/03/2021
Thursday, 02/04/2021
Friday, 02/05/2021
Saturday, 02/06/2021
Sunday, 02/07/2021

Performance Times
7:30 p.m. on Jan. 29, then on demand anytime Jan. 30-Feb. 7

Ticket Information:
$5

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
facebook.com/cpmusic

instagram.com/calpolymusic


 

performing arts performers
stage