Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 549 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Mysterious Circumstances

Mysterious Circumstances Mysterious Circumstances
Written by Michael Mitnick
Inspired by The New Yorker article "Mysterious Circumstances: The Strange Death of a Sherlock Holmes Fanatic" by David Grann
Directed by Matt Shakman

This world premiere play by Michael Mitnick (Drama Desk Award nominee for Fly By Night, The Siegel) is an ode to literature's most cerebral detective.


Mysterious Circumstances
World Premiere and Geffen Playhouse Commission
Written by Michael Mitnick
Inspired by The New Yorker article "Mysterious Circumstances: The Strange Death of a Sherlock Holmes Fanatic" by David Grann
Directed by Matt Shakman

Based on a true story that’s stranger than fiction, Mysterious Circumstances explores the life and sudden death of Richard Lancelyn Green, the world’s foremost scholar on Sherlock Holmes. When Green tries to stop a Christie's auction of priceless Conan Doyle writing, threats turn into a deadly case worthy of Holmes himself.

Inspired by a New Yorker article by David Grann (The Lost City of Z, Killers of the Flower Moon), written by Michael Mitnick (Drama Desk Award nominee for Fly by Night, The Siegel) and directed by Geffen Playhouse Artistic Director Matt Shakman, Mysterious Circumstances uses breathtaking theatricality, mystery and magic to bring to life this rumination on the fine line between love and obsession. What is fact and what is fiction? This world premiere insists that the mystery is yours to solve.

Presenter / Producer: The Geffen Playhouse

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama


Event Phone: 310-208-5454

Venue
The Geffen Playhouse
10886 Le Conte
Los Angeles CA 90024

Regions:
LA - Hollywood / Westside


Performance Dates: 6/11/2019 - 7/21/2019
Tuesday, 06/11/2019
Wednesday, 06/12/2019
Thursday, 06/13/2019
Friday, 06/14/2019
Saturday, 06/15/2019
Sunday, 06/16/2019
Tuesday, 06/18/2019
Thursday, 06/20/2019
Friday, 06/21/2019
Saturday, 06/22/2019
Sunday, 06/23/2019
Tuesday, 06/25/2019
Wednesday, 06/26/2019
Thursday, 06/27/2019
Friday, 06/28/2019
Saturday, 06/29/2019
Sunday, 06/30/2019
Tuesday, 07/02/2019
Wednesday, 07/03/2019
Friday, 07/05/2019
Saturday, 07/06/2019
Sunday, 07/07/2019
Tuesday, 07/09/2019
Wednesday, 07/10/2019
Thursday, 07/11/2019
Friday, 07/12/2019
Saturday, 07/13/2019
Sunday, 07/14/2019
Thursday, 07/18/2019
Friday, 07/19/2019
Saturday, 07/20/2019
Sunday, 07/21/2019

Performance Times
Tuesday - Friday at 8:00 pm
Saturday at 3:00 pm and 8:00 pm
Sunday at 2:00 pm and 7:00 pm

Ticket Information:
Tickets $30 - $120.00

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
https://twitter.com/geffenplayhouse

https://www.instagram.com/geffenplayhouse/


 

performing arts performers
stage