Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 573 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

Grand Master Funk

Grand Master FunkIn 1992, just as the prolific sci fi writer Isaac Asimov is embarking on his final chapter, surprise visitors from outer space intercede to help him re-envision what is possible. Together they hope to rewrite a better future for our planet and beyond.

The REP’s award-winning Playwright-in-Residence Herbert Siguenza (Bad Hombres/Good Wives, A Weekend with Pablo Picasso) is back with a sci-fi fantasy told in the key of funk.

It’s 1992 and the prolific writer Herbert Isaac and the “Father of Science Fiction” is ill and is putting things in order when he receives a surprise visit from intergalactic travelers to help Isaac re-envision a story that was once hidden away. PFunk—a former resident of Earth—and his protégé Anita have travelled back to have Isaac rewrite and publish a bestseller that will acknowledge the existence of PFunk, the acceptance of Afrofuturism and the saving of a race and dying planet.  

Siguenza plays the title role in this world premiere intergalactic comedy, which turns his Culture Clash-style hilarity towards a mash-up of imagination, robotics, publishing, space travel and global warming, all fueled by an infectious ‘70's Funk soundtrack!

Presenter / Producer: San Diego Repertory Theatre

Listed Categories
Theater > Drama
Theater > Theatrical Comedy


Event Phone: 619-544-1000

Venue
Lyceum Space
79 Horton Plaza
San Diego CA 92101

Regions:
San Diego


Performance Dates: 10/27/2022 - 11/20/2022
Thursday, 10/27/2022
Friday, 10/28/2022
Saturday, 10/29/2022
Sunday, 10/30/2022
Tuesday, 11/01/2022
Wednesday, 11/02/2022
Thursday, 11/03/2022
Friday, 11/04/2022
Saturday, 11/05/2022
Sunday, 11/06/2022
Wednesday, 11/09/2022
Thursday, 11/10/2022
Friday, 11/11/2022
Saturday, 11/12/2022
Sunday, 11/13/2022
Wednesday, 11/16/2022
Thursday, 11/17/2022
Friday, 11/18/2022
Saturday, 11/19/2022
Sunday, 11/20/2022

Performance Times
Tuesday 11/1 - 7:00pm
Wednesdays - 7:00pm
Thursdays, Fridays - 8:00pm
Saturdays, 10/29 and 11/5 - 8:00pm
Saturdays, 11/12 and 11/19 - 2:00pm and 8:00pm
Sunday, 10/30 - 7:00pm
Sunday, 11/13 - 2:00pm
Sundays, 11/6 and 11/20 - 2:00pm and 7:00pm

Ticket Information:
Tickets from $25.00

Call/Email Box Office: 619-544-1000
boxoffice@sdrep.org

Websites:
Event Information

Social Media or other Links:
https://www.instagram.com/sandiegorepertorytheatre

https://www.facebook.com/SanDiegoREP/


 

performing arts performers
stage