Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 518 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram



Cal Poly Symphony Fall Concert: Gabrielian Plays Shostakovich

Cal Poly Symphony Fall Concert: Gabrielian Plays ShostakovichThe Cal Poly Symphony returns to performing live for an in-person audience for its fall concert!

For the concert, titled “Gabrielian Plays Shostakovich,” the symphony welcomes guest soloist Tanya Gabrielian, hailed by the London Times as “a pianist of powerful physical and imaginative muscle,” to perform Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2. An acclaimed soloist, she has performed with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra and Boston Pops, among others.

In addition to performing internationally, Gabrielian is passionate about community engagement, education and activism through art. She has collaborated with the National Alliance on Mental Illness in programs highlighting the stigma around mental health issues, and with other artists in multidisciplinary projects that have earned her international recognition.

The symphony’s program will feature composers with mental illness, beginning with Sergei Rachmaninoff, who suffered from depression. After one particularly dismal period precipitated by a failed premiere, he could only return to composing with the help of his therapist, Nikolai Dahl. The group will play Rachmaninoff’s haunting “Vocalise” in an arrangement for full orchestra by the composer.

The program will continue with Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s “Romeo and Juliet Overture-Fantasy,” based on Shakespeare’s play of the same name. Tchaikovsky, who experienced extreme cycles of depression and productivity, struggled with the composition of this work.  With the help of Mily Balakirev, it underwent several revisions, from its disappointing first performance to eventual success.

After intermission, Gabrielian will play Robert Schumann’s Piano Sonata No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 22. Schumann, who suffered from bipolar disorder and delusional visions, attempted suicide and was admitted at his own request to a mental asylum, where he died without recovering. This sonata was composed between 1830 and 1838 and is the most performed of his piano sonatas. Clara Schumann, the composer’s wife and a virtuoso pianist, wrote to her husband in 1838, “I am endlessly looking forward to the second sonata. Your whole being is so clearly expressed in it.”

The concert will conclude with a performance of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Major, Op.102. The concerto, written four years after the death of Joseph Stalin, was a birthday present for the composer’s 19-year-old son, Maxim. Unlike the tense, angst-ridden music that Shostakovich is known for, this piece revels in playful humor, poignant simplicity, and inside jokes only father and son would understand.

Presenter / Producer: Cal Poly Music Department

Listed Categories
Music > Classical
Music > Recitals - Instrumental
Music > Chamber Music

Event Phone: 805-756-4849

Performing Arts Center
1 Grand Ave
San Luis Obispo CA 93405

Central California
Ventura, Santa Barbara & San Luis Obispo

Performance Dates: 12/3/2021
Friday, 12/03/2021

Performance Times
7:30 p.m.

Ticket Information:
$15 and $20 general, $10 students

Web Link for ticketing

Event Information

Social Media or other Links:


performing arts performers