Performing Arts Banner
Facebook and Twitter

Currently hosting 573 active events

Performing Arts Live Facebook Performing Arts Live Twitter Performing Arts Live Instagram

 

 

A Midsummer Night's Dream

A Midsummer Night's DreamOpen Fist Theatre Company presents a Provocative ‘A Midsummer Night’s Dream’ set in the time of slavery.

Intrigued by the mechanicals’ line “That would hang us every mother’s son,” director/choreographer James Fowler has moved his Open Fist Theatre Company production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream from Athens, Greece to Athens, Georgia circa 1855, where Shakespeare’s text remains intact, but casting and design land us in the world of the Antebellum South. Performances take place June 17 through August 13 at Atwater Village Theatre.

“I was stunned to discover how well this concept works with the text,” says Fowler. “It makes sense that the fairies, unseen to the lovers, are invisible to the plantation owners around them because they are enslaved. I imagine African slaves on the plantations as people who, despite horrendous hardship, carried magic. In this production, we’re able to see their magic played out in the lives of the people around them who don’t ever see them.”

A Midsummer Night’s Dream runs June 25 through August 13, with performances taking place on Fridays and Saturdays at 8 p.m. and Sundays at 7 p.m. There will be four previews, June 17 through June 24, on the same schedule. General admission to all performances except previews is $25, with $15 tickets available to students, seniors and veterans with valid ID. Previews are Pay-What-You-Will. Atwater Village Theatre is located at 3269 Casitas Ave in Los Angeles, CA 90039. Parking is free is in the ATX (Atwater Crossing) parking lot one block south of the theater.

Appropriate for ages 8 and up.

To purchase tickets and for more information, including up-to-date Covid-19 protocols on the date of each performance, call (323) 882-6912 or go to www.openfist.org.

Presenter / Producer: Open Fist Theatre Company

Listed Categories
Theater > Theatrical Comedy


Event Phone: 323-882-6912

Venue
Atwater Village Theatre
3269 Casitas Ave
Los Angeles CA 90039

Regions:
LA - Central / Downtown


Performance Dates: 6/17/2022 - 8/13/2022
Friday, 06/17/2022
Saturday, 06/18/2022
Sunday, 06/19/2022
Friday, 06/24/2022
Saturday, 06/25/2022
Sunday, 06/26/2022
Friday, 07/01/2022
Saturday, 07/02/2022
Sunday, 07/03/2022
Friday, 07/08/2022
Saturday, 07/09/2022
Sunday, 07/10/2022
Friday, 07/15/2022
Saturday, 07/16/2022
Sunday, 07/17/2022
Friday, 07/22/2022
Saturday, 07/23/2022
Sunday, 07/24/2022
Friday, 07/29/2022
Saturday, 07/30/2022
Sunday, 07/31/2022
Friday, 08/05/2022
Saturday, 08/06/2022
Sunday, 08/07/2022
Friday, 08/12/2022
Saturday, 08/13/2022

Performance Times
Fridays at 8 p.m.
Saturdays at 8 p.m.
Sundays at 7 p.m.


Ticket Information:
$15-$25

Web Link for ticketing

Websites:
Social Media or other Links:
https://www.instagram.com/openfisttheatrecompany/?hl=en

https://twitter.com/openfisttheatre?lang=en


 

performing arts performers
stage